New virus transmitted by ticks

A new virus that has infected people in Missouri and Tennessee has been identified as Heartland virus. Because it’s a virus, it cannot be cured with antibiotics. The best cure for this virus is prevention. All but one person infected by the virus has recovered; one died due to additional risk factors.

The virus is transmitted by the Lone Star tick. To see a picture of the Lone Star tick, visit our Pinterest page.

See both the Entomology Today blog post and the CDC webpage on Heartland virus.

Webinar on wildlife control training for Master Gardeners

The Wildlife Damage Management training manual for Master Gardener volunteers provides methods for managing wildlife damage, based on applied research, for a variety of different species.  The manual recommends the latest control techniques within a framework of Integrated Pest Management (IPM). It offers strategies for a variety of situations and species, and has the following advantages:

  1. suitable for any state in North America,
  2. recognizes the diversity of activities and complex decisions involved with managing problem wildlife,
  3. organized so that readers can find information quickly, and
  4. encourages feedback from readers with the goal of improving the program.

Continue reading

Reduced Tillage Webinar on April 8

Join eOrganic for a webinar entitled “Putting the Pieces Together: Lessons Learned from a Reduced-Tillage Organic Cropping Systems Project”, by William Curran, Ron Hoover, and John Wallace of Penn State University. The webinar will take place on April 8 at 2PM Eastern Time, 1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time. The webinar is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required.

Register now at https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/432001529

About the Webinar Continue reading

NC State University Leads Research into Kudzu Bug Host Preferences

For an exotic invasive insect pest, kudzu bug is fairly easy to control. Spray a pyrethroid, and it’s gone.

The problem is that the pyrethroid also takes with it many beneficial insects that usually keep other soybean pests low in numbers. So although the field may be free of kudzu bugs, it could later be overrun with soybean looper and caterpillar pests that are just as destructive as kudzu bug. So the grower has to keep spraying.

Continue reading