Call for Nominations: Insect Research and Control Conference Recognition Award for Excellence in Cotton Integrated Pest Management

This award recognizes the outstanding career contributions to applied integrated arthropod pest management across the U.S. Cotton Belt. The recipient will be an individual entomologist who has excelled in allied industry, research, extension, or educational programs that have benefited the cotton industry. The annual recognition consists of an inscribed plaque and a monetary award.

Eligibility of Candidates. A nominee must be an entomologist who has contributed to improvements for integrated management of arthropod pests for the US cotton industry.

Individuals from the same sector of the agricultural industry are not eligible for consideration in consecutive years. Because an individual from the Industry sector won the award in 2015 (Walt Mullins), nominees for 2016 must come from either Extension or Research. Individuals from the Industry sector will be eligible for consideration again in 2017. For a listing of past winners see the list below.

Nomination Procedures. Nomination packets (contents required described below) must be received by Tuesday, November 24, 2015. Please send nominations to:

Dr. Gus Lorenz, Chair, Awards Committee:

Application Format. The nomination package must not exceed 6 pages total, excluding letters of support. A summary sheet of the candidate’s accomplishments should be included as the first official page of the nomination materials. The package must be prepared in 12 pt. type and have 1-inch margins on all sides of the page. Nominations that do not adhere to the standard form, length, font size, and other instructions will be returned to the nominator. All materials including the application package and letters must be included in the electronic format. An electronic copy of each nomination package should be submitted to the Chair of the Awards Committee by the date listed above.

An electronic file in the following file formats will be accepted: PDF (Adobe Portable Document Format), RTF (Rich Text Format), or JPG graphic files. Files created on either PC or MAC platforms will be accepted. Please make sure scanned images can be clearly read on a computer screen. A nomination package may contain no more than 5 separate files, and the size of each file must not exceed 3 MB.

The nomination package should include the following information in the order listed below:

  1. A summary sheet of accomplishments with the title of the award (date, year), as well as the name and full contact address of the nominee and nominator listed at the top of the page.
  2. One page nomination letter referencing a summary of professional accomplishments supporting the candidate’s nomination.
  3. Biographical/Professional sketch of the nominee. This section should include an evaluation and appraisal of the nominee’s accomplishments with special emphasis on the work to be recognized by the award. This work represents career accomplishments and may include:
  4. Accomplishments with emphasis on service to IPM for the U.S. cotton industry
  5. Description of innovations in training, programs, methods
  6. Professional activities and service
  7. Industry support of state, regional, or national issues affecting cotton IPM.
  8. Additional supporting information, including no more than 3 letters of recommendation. These letters are not included in the 6 page total.

Selection Process. Candidates will be judged by an Award Selection Committee on the evidence of their Recognition for Cotton Arthropod Pest Management (20 points), Significance (Impact) of Research, Extension, and Education Activities, (40 points), Documentation of Leadership (15 points), Participation in Activities Supporting Cotton IPM (15) and Letters of Support (10 points) provided in the nomination package.

Award Presentation. The award will be presented during the Business Meeting of the Annual Beltwide Cotton Insect Research and Control Conferences. The recipient is expected to be present at this meeting to receive the award.

If you have a candidate for the award that was submitted last year we still have it. If you wish to submit last year’s nomination we only need an e-mail letting us know you wish to re-nominate with that package again as long as they are not an Industry person.

Past award winners:

2012: Rogers Leonard, Research

2013: Pat O’Leary, Industry

2014: Jack Bacheler, Extension

2015: Walt Mullins, Industry

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: