New eOrganic webinars this month (one is today!)

Join eOrganic for new webinars on organic farming and research in December! eOrganic has added a new dairy webinar to the program (not listed below; go to their website for details, and there are two webinars on cabbage family pests and one on organic strawberry production. All webinars are free and open to the public and advance registration is required. Note the times and descriptions below.

December 2: Biological Control of Cole Crop Pests on the Central California Coast, by Diego Nieto of the University of California Santa Cruz. 2PM Eastern Time,1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time. (TODAY) The webinar will describe the role of predators and parasitoids in managing cabbage aphids, diamondback moth (DBM) and cabbage root fly in organic brassica crops. Specifically, syrphid species common to the California Central Coast will be characterized, diamondback moth parasitism by Diadegma insulare will be examined, and predation and parasitism of cabbage root fly by rove beetles and braconids, respectively, will be discussed. Register

December 9: An Integrated Approach to Managing Yellowmargined Leaf Beetle in Crucifer Crops, by Rammohan Balusu and Ayanava Majumdar of Auburn University and Elena Rhodes of the University of Florida.  2PM Eastern Time,1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time. A previous eOrganic webinar on the Yellowmargined Leaf Beetle described the biology and basic management approaches for this pest. This webinar will provide advanced IPM information related to trap crops, attractants, and biorational insecticides. We will conclude with a detailed discussion of organic integrated pest management strategies suitable for multiple pest problems in organic and conventional crucifer production systems. Register

December 16: Nitrogen Management in Organic Strawberries: Challenges and Approaches. Mark Gaskell, UC Cooperative Extension, Carol Shennan and Joji Muramoto, University of California Santa Cruz. 2PM Eastern Time,1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time. Nitrogen management is one of many challenges that organic strawberry growers face. In this webinar, we will address the challenges of nitrogen management in strawberries, pattern of nitrogen uptake over plant growth cycle and synchronizing N supply, pre-plant amendments and leaching losses, and issues with fertigation efficiency. Register

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: