Upcoming eOrganic Webinars

Some of these webinars concern topics other than pest management.

Join eOrganic for many new webinars as well as next week’s live broadcast from the Organic Seed Growers Conference. We’ve made some exciting additions to our program, such as a presentation by bakers on using local organic grains, updates on a pastured poultry research project from Michael Lilburn at Ohio State, and a webinar on cultivating resilience on organic farms by Laura Lengnick. We’re also hosting two webinars on food safety practices on organic farms by Chris Blanchard of Purple Pitchfork and Erin Silva of the University of Wisconsin. Continue reading

UKAg researchers to collaborate with UT in $1.8 million grant to study organic dairy production

By Aimee Nielson, University of Kentucky

Kentucky is home to nearly 30 organic dairies, and that number is expected to double in the next three to five years. Organic dairy producers have voiced frustration at the lack of research-based forage production information available. Recently, however, the University of Kentucky College of Agriculture, Food and Environment began a partnership with the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture to conduct research that may fill the gap and help organic dairies strengthen their profitability.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture awarded a $1.8 million grant to UT, and UK will subcontract nearly $500,000 of that amount to begin multidisciplinary research in the departments of Animal and Food Science, Agricultural Economics and Plant and Soil Sciences. Continue reading

Organic Dairy Herd Health Webinar Next Monday

Join eOrganic for a new webinar on Your Organic Dairy Herd Health Toolbox, by Dr. Hubert Karreman on Monday, July 16, 2012 from 2 pm to 3:15 pm ET (1 – 2:15 pm Central, 12 – 1:15 pm Mountain, 11 am – 12:15 pm Pacific time). In this free presentation, Dr. Karreman will discuss organic dairy herd health considerations, approaches to organic dairy cattle treatment currently allowed by the National Organic Program, and how best to work with your local veterinarian. Advance registration is required.

Register now at http://www.extension.org/pages/64442

Continue reading